Pharmaceutical production: no opportunity for pirates

Fake is on the advance. Even the pharmaceutical industry has to fight against copies and counterfeits. One effective measure is seamless product identification across the entire production and distribution process. With the modular BL ident® RFID system from Turck, the authenticity of the original and its provenance can be traced at all times.

Counterfeiting of pharmaceuticals and the smuggling of counterfeits into legal distribution channels can have life-threatening consequences for patients and undermine the trust of the markets in reputable pharmaceutical manufacturers. The problem intensified a number of years ago, inciting the authorities to take action: With Directive 2011/62/EU, the European Union began the introduction of compulsory serialisation. This entered into force on 9th February 2019 and, since this date, manufacturers of prescription medicines within the EU must serialise their products

Connection to the Europe-wide data storage network

In Switzerland, the organisation Swiss Medicines Verification Organisation, SMVO, which was founded in April 2018, took the initiative: In a first step, it adopted EU-compliant safety features for packaging. It now intends to establish a national data register and connect this to the Europe-wide data storage network. The safety features on the packaging include a unique serial number, specific production data for product identification, the expiry date and the batch number.

Consistent identification across all packaging units

Identification is written in plain text as well as, depending on the packaging unit, applied as a barcode or data matrix code, or in an RFID data carrier. In accordance with the EU directive, identification must be guaranteed across the entire production and distribution chain and must be verifiable for all trade and logistics partners. This means that the identification must be displayed on all packaging units: from the primary packaging, e.g. blister pack, to the secondary packaging, as provided in the retail trade, and on to collective packaging and the pallet.

Turck RFID

Achieve an individual solution for seamless traceability with Bachofen

This is where the compact, versatile RFID identification system BL ident® from Turck comes into play. The modular system concept supports all current protocols and enables the implementation of customised solutions. The TBEN-L RFID module is now also available in IP67 with an OPC-UA server. Thanks to the platform-independent OPC-UA communication standard, BL ident® can easily be integrated in MES, SPS, ERP and cloud systems.

The right contact for BL ident® is soon identified: As the exclusive representative of Turck in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein, Bachofen provides the customer with intensive advice, demonstrates the possibilities of the system with test materials on-site, and offers support with the evaluation of the components.

Downloads

Do you have any questions?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager
+41 44 944 14 35

Discover more RFID system

Discover more products from Turck

Production pharmaceutique : protection contre la contrefaçon

De nos jours, les faussaires ont le vent en poupe. L’industrie pharmaceutique doit elle aussi se défendre contre les copies et les falsifications. Une mesure efficace consiste en l’identification sans faille des produits tout au long des processus de production et de distribution. Le système RFID modulaire BL ident® de Turck permet de prouver à tout moment l’authenticité de l’original et sa provenance.

La falsification de médicaments et l’introduction des contrefaçons dans les canaux de distribution légaux peuvent avoir de graves conséquences pour les patients et ébranlent la confiance accordée aux producteurs pharmaceutiques de qualité. Le problème s’étant aggravé ces dernières années, les autorités ont pris des mesures de prévention : par la directive 2011/62/UE, l’Union européenne a institué l’obligation de sérialisation. Celle-ci est entrée en vigueur le 9 février 2019. Depuis cette date, les fabricants de médicaments délivrés uniquement sur ordonnance doivent sérialiser leurs produits au sein de l’Union européenne.

Connexion au réseau européen de stockage de données

En Suisse, l’organisation « Swiss Medicines Verification Organisation » (SMVO) créée en avril 2018 a pris l’initiative : dans un premier temps, elle a adopté les dispositifs de sécurité pour emballages en vigueur dans l’Union européenne. À présent, elle a l’intention de créer un registre de données national et de le connecter au réseau européen de stockage de données. Les dispositifs de sécurité des emballages se composent d’un numéro de série unique, de données de production spécifiques relatives à l’identification du produit, de la date de péremption et du numéro du lot.

Identification continue de toutes les unités d’emballage

Le marquage est inscrit en texte clair ainsi que, selon l’unité d’emballage, sous forme de code barres ou de code Data Matrix, ou encore sur un support de données RFID. Conformément à la directive de l’Union européenne, l’identification doit être garantie tout au long de la chaîne de production et de distribution et pour tous les partenaires logistiques et commerciaux. Cela veut dire que le marquage doit apparaître sur toutes les unités d’emballage : sur l’emballage primaire, par exemple le blister, l’emballage secondaire, tel que disponible dans le commerce de détail, ainsi que l’emballage groupé et la palette.

Turck RFID

Grâce à Bachofen, une solution personnalisée pour une traçabilité sans faille

C’est ici que le système d’identification compact et polyvalent RFID BL ident® de Turck entre en jeu. Le concept modulaire du système prend en charge tous les protocoles usuels et permet la réalisation de solutions sur mesure. Désormais, le module RFID TBEN-L est disponible en version IP67 avec serveur OPC-UA. Grâce au standard de communication OPC-UA indépendant de la plateforme, BL ident® s’intègre parfaitement aux systèmes MES, API, ERP et Cloud.

L’interlocuteur approprié pour BL ident® est rapidement identifié : en tant que représentant exclusif de Turck pour la Suisse et la Principauté du Liechtenstein, Bachofen conseille intensivement le client, lui présente sur les lieux les possibilités du système au moyen de matériel d’essai et l’aide à évaluer les composants.

Téléchargements

Avez-vous des questions ?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager
+41 44 944 14 35

Découvrir d'autres système RFID

Découvrez plus de produits de Turck

Domaines d’utilisation

  • Traçabilité des processus de production et de distribution

  • Identification de formes pour la surveillance de la durée de vie

  • Changement sûr de format