Product identification: no cakewalk in the food industry

An identification system’s true value becomes most apparent when it is subjected to demanding general conditions. These are particularly challenging in the food industry. Due to its resistant properties, Turck’s modular BL ident® RFID system will whet the appetite of prudent plant constructors.

There is no shortage of challenges in plant construction for industrial food production. Constructors must delve into matters relating to hygiene, traceability, food safety and automated documentation and deal with these, all while keeping a watchful eye on productivity and the process control’s efficiency.

Cleaning as a test

The effectiveness of cleaning the plants, which is essential for the food sector, is an issue in its own right. The fact that cleaning must be carried out periodically, often at short intervals, needs to be taken into consideration. This is the reason why highly aggressive detergents are sometimes used. A plant and each of its individual components must also be able to tolerate high temperatures and pressures during the cleaning process.

Coping with the most adverse environmental influences

Under these demanding conditions, the modular BL ident® RFID system from the automation specialist Turck can fully demonstrate its strengths compared to optical identification technologies, such as QR code or barcode recognition. Read and write functions can be carried out without direct visual contact, for example. The RFID data carriers are particularly resistant to intensive cleaning methods as well as other environmental influences such as dirt, the formation of ice or dew, ambient light or minor mechanical damage.

Fokusthemen_RFID

RFID — the predominant technology in the food sector

Turck’s modular BL ident® RFID system can handle larger quantities of data without being connected to a database better than other technologies while enabling a variety of data carriers to be simultaneously recognised. These have a compact design and do not take up much space in the plant. The system enables batches to be changed over more quickly or reliably controls the mixed and flexible production of various products. As a result, it also makes a significant contribution to increasing process efficiency.

Bachofen will identify your specific requirements before implementing BL ident®. Successful deployment of the system is ensured through the competent advice and support provided during its construction.

Downloads

Do you have any questions?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager
+41 44 944 14 35

Identification des produits : pas une sinécure, dans le domaine de l’alimentation

C’est dans des conditions-cadres exigeantes qu’un système d’identification montre réellement sa valeur. Et dans l’industrie alimentaire, il s’agit d’un défi particulier. Grâce à sa résistance, le système RFID BL ident® de Turck satisfait les constructeurs d’installations prudents.

La construction d’installations pour la production industrielle alimentaire ne manque pas de défis. Les constructeurs sont confrontés à des questions concernant l’hygiène, la traçabilité, la sécurité alimentaire et la documentation automatisée. En même temps, ils doivent garder un œil sur la productivité et l’efficacité des commandes de processus.

Le nettoyage comme épreuve

L’efficacité indispensable du nettoyage des installations constitue, dans le secteur alimentaire, un sujet en soi. Il faut prendre en considération le fait que celui-ci doit avoir lieu à intervalles réguliers, souvent courts. Sont alors utilisés des produits nettoyants parfois très agressifs. Une installation et ses différents composants doivent également être en mesure de supporter la très forte chaleur et la pression élevée lors du nettoyage.

Paré pour affronter les conditions environnementales les plus difficiles

Dans ces conditions exigeantes, le système RFID BL ident® modulaire du spécialiste de l’automatisation Turck peut pleinement exploiter ses atouts par rapport à des technologies d’identification optiques telles que la reconnaissance QR ou code-barres. Par exemple, il est possible de lire et d’écrire sans contact visuel direct. Les supports de données RFID sont particulièrement résistants face aux méthodes de nettoyage intensives ainsi qu’aux autres influences environnementales comme la salissure, la formation de glace et de buée, l’éclairage ambiant ou de légers dommages mécaniques.

Fokusthemen_RFID

RFID, technologie supérieure dans le secteur alimentaire

Les systèmes RFID BL ident® modulaires de Turck sont plus à même de traiter de grandes quantités de données sans connexion à une banque de données que d’autres technologies et permettent en même temps la reconnaissance d’un grand nombre de support de données. Ils sont compacts et nécessitent moins de place dans l’installation. Le système gère le changement rapide de produits ou pilote de manière fiable la production croisée et flexible de différents produits. Ainsi, il participe de manière significative à l’augmentation de l’efficacité des processus.

L’implémentation de BL ident® est précédée de l’identification de vos besoins spécifiques par Bachofen. Le conseil compétent et le soutien lors de l’interprétation du système garantissent une utilisation réussie.

Téléchargements

Avez-vous des questions ?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager
+41 44 944 14 35

Découvrir d'autres système RFID BL ident®

Découvrez plus de produits de Turck