Pharmaceutical production: no opportunity for pirates

Fake is on the advance. Even the pharmaceutical industry has to fight against copies and counterfeits. One effective measure is seamless product identification across the entire production and distribution process. With the modular BL ident® RFID system from Turck, the authenticity of the original and its provenance can be traced at all times.

Counterfeiting of pharmaceuticals and the smuggling of counterfeits into legal distribution channels can have life-threatening consequences for patients and undermine the trust of the markets in reputable pharmaceutical manufacturers. The problem intensified a number of years ago, inciting the authorities to take action: With Directive 2011/62/EU, the European Union began the introduction of compulsory serialisation. This entered into force on 9th February 2019 and, since this date, manufacturers of prescription medicines within the EU must serialise their products

Connection to the Europe-wide data storage network

In Switzerland, the organisation Swiss Medicines Verification Organisation, SMVO, which was founded in April 2018, took the initiative: In a first step, it adopted EU-compliant safety features for packaging. It now intends to establish a national data register and connect this to the Europe-wide data storage network. The safety features on the packaging include a unique serial number, specific production data for product identification, the expiry date and the batch number.

Consistent identification across all packaging units

Identification is written in plain text as well as, depending on the packaging unit, applied as a barcode or data matrix code, or in an RFID data carrier. In accordance with the EU directive, identification must be guaranteed across the entire production and distribution chain and must be verifiable for all trade and logistics partners. This means that the identification must be displayed on all packaging units: from the primary packaging, e.g. blister pack, to the secondary packaging, as provided in the retail trade, and on to collective packaging and the pallet.

Turck RFID

Achieve an individual solution for seamless traceability with Bachofen

This is where the compact, versatile RFID identification system BL ident® from Turck comes into play. The modular system concept supports all current protocols and enables the implementation of customised solutions. The TBEN-L RFID module is now also available in IP67 with an OPC-UA server. Thanks to the platform-independent OPC-UA communication standard, BL ident® can easily be integrated in MES, SPS, ERP and cloud systems.

The right contact for BL ident® is soon identified: As the exclusive representative of Turck in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein, Bachofen provides the customer with intensive advice, demonstrates the possibilities of the system with test materials on-site, and offers support with the evaluation of the components.

Downloads

Do you have any questions?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager
+41 44 944 14 35

Discover more RFID system

Discover more products from Turck

Pharma-Produktion: Keine Chance für Plagiateure

Fake ist auf dem Vormarsch. Auch die Pharmaindustrie muss sich gegen Kopien und Fälschungen zur Wehr setzen. Eine wirksame Massnahme ist die lückenlose Produktidentifikation über den gesamten Produktions- und Vertriebsprozess. Mit dem modularen RFID-System BL ident® von Turck ist die Echtheit des Originals und dessen Herkunft jederzeit nachweisbar.

Die Fälschung von Arzneimitteln und die Einschleusung der Falsifikate in die legalen Vertriebskanäle können für die Patienten lebensgefährliche Folgen haben und untergraben das Vertrauen der Märkte in die seriösen Pharma-Hersteller. Das Problem hat sich schon vor Jahren zunehmend akzentuiert und die Behörden auf den Plan gerufen: Mit der Richtlinie 2011/62/EU hat die Europäische Union die Einführung der Serialisierungspflicht in Gang gesetzt. Am 9. Februar 2019 trat diese in Kraft. Seit diesem Datum müssen die Hersteller von verschreibungspflichtigen Medikamenten innerhalb der EU ihre Produkte serialisieren.

Anschluss an das europaweite Datenspeicherungsnetz

In der Schweiz hat die im April 2018 gegründete Organisation Swiss Medicines Verification Organisation, SMVO, die Initiative ergriffen: Sie hat in einem ersten Schritt die EU-konformen Sicherheitsmerkmale für Verpackungen übernommen. Nun beabsichtigt sie, einen nationalen Datenspeicher einzurichten und diesen an das europaweit flächendeckende Datenspeicherungsnetz anzuschliessen. Die Sicherheitsmerkmale auf den Verpackungen bestehen aus einer einmalig vergebenen Seriennummer, spezifischen Produktionsdaten zur Produktidentifikation, dem Verfalldatum und der Chargennummer.

Durchgängige Identifikation über alle Verpackungseinheiten

Die Kennzeichnung wird im Klartext und zusätzlich je nach Packungseinheit als Bar- oder Data-Matrix-Code aufgebracht, respektive in einen RFID-Datenträger geschrieben. Gemäss der EU-Richtlinie muss die Identifikation über die gesamte Produktions- und Vertriebskette gewährleistet und für alle Handels- und Logistikpartner verifizierbar sein. Das bedeutet, dass die Kennzeichnung auf allen Verpackungseinheiten erscheinen muss: von der Primärverpackung, beispielsweise Blister, über die Sekundärverpackung, wie sie im Detailhandel erhältlich ist, bis hin zur Sammelpackung und zur Palette.

Turck RFID

Mit Bachofen zur individuellen Lösung für eine lückenlose Rückverfolgung

Hier kommt das kompakte, vielseitige RFID-Identifikationssystem BL ident® von Turck ins Spiel. Das modulare Systemkonzept unterstützt alle gängigen Protokolle und ermöglicht die Realisation massgeschneiderter Lösungen. Neu steht das RFID-Modul TBEN-L in IP67 mit OPC-UA-Server zur Verfügung. Dank dem plattformunabhängigen Kommunikationsstandard OPC-UA lässt sich BL ident® problemlos in MES-, SPS-, ERP- und Cloud-Systeme integrieren.

Der geeignete Ansprechpartner für BL ident® ist schnell identifiziert: Als Exklusivvertreter von Turck für die Schweiz und das Fürstentum Liechtenstein berät Bachofen den Kunden intensiv, zeigt mit Testmaterial vor Ort die Möglichkeiten des Systems auf und bietet Unterstützung bei der Evaluation der Komponenten.

Downloads