Keeping a keen eye on your motors: Condition monitoring with Turck and Banner​

Before a drive gives up the ghost, it usually emits calls for help in the form of vibrations and overheating. But these are all in vain if they go unnoticed. Condition monitoring with Turck and Banner indicates emerging faults to protect against production downtime and rejected products.

The failure of a drive unavoidably results in the machine or plant grinding to a halt, which can have fatal consequences. A jam inevitably occurs, and liquid products may become clogged or overflow. Every minute of interruption to production costs money. Cleaning and maintenance work may be required, especially in hygiene-sensitive environments. This consumes energy, often harms the environment and further delays the restart of the plant. In many cases, products are produced that must be rejected, generating waste that causes additional financial losses and runs counter to the increasingly desired goal of sustainable production.

Early detection saves stress, effort and energy

The ability to identify irregularities and faults in the operation of motors, pumps and compressors during continuous operation removes the fear of production downtime. Early detection can also prevent energy waste caused by issues like friction or the poor transmission of drive power. If maintenance personnel have data which indicates a deviation from the norm, they can address the relevant risk factors during the next scheduled maintenance. This has time and cost benefits, since every check necessitates additional work.

Condition Monitoring Turck Banner

Intelligent linking of sensors with data transfer from Turck and Banner

The condition monitoring system, based on elements from Turck and Banner, provides continuous, reliable monitoring of motors. The core component is a robust sensor for detecting vibrations and temperature: two important indicators of the current state of a drive. Depending on customer requirements, the data can be transferred via IO-Link or Modbus RTU interface. Banner comes into play in areas that are difficult to access: The industrial wireless network system from the Bachofen technology partner transfers data wirelessly to the local control system or onward into the cloud. A wide range of different solid brackets is available, allowing the quick and easy installation and removal of sensors in any system. There is also a clear, user-friendly dashboard for controlling and monitoring the system.

Bachofen monitoring expertise included

Depending on the severity of the consequences of an unexpected plant shutdown, investment in the condition monitoring system could pay off after the first potential shutdown. That is reason enough to contact the Bachofen experts in monitoring industrial plants to discuss a tailor-made solution.

Do you have any questions?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager

Scharf beobachtete Motoren: Condition Monitoring mit Turck und Banner

Bevor ein Antrieb den Geist aufgibt, sendet er in der Regel Hilferufe in Form von Vibrationen und Überhitzung aus. Doch diese verhallen im Nichts, wenn sie nicht wahrgenommen werden. Condition Monitoring mit Turck und Banner weist auf sich abzeichnende Defekte hin und schützt vor Produktionsstillständen und Ausschuss.

Der Ausfall eines Antriebs führt zwangsläufig zu einem Stillstand der Maschine oder Anlage, der fatale Auswirkungen haben kann. Es kommt unweigerlich zu einem Stau, bei Flüssigprodukten möglicherweise zu einer Verstopfung oder einem Überlauf. Der Unterbruch der Produktion kostet mit jeder Minute Geld. Unter Umständen sind – insbesondere in hygienesensiblen Umgebungen – energieaufwändige und oft umweltbelastende Reinigungs- und Instandstellungsarbeiten erforderlich, die das Wiederhochfahren der Anlage weiter verzögern. Oft entsteht Ausschuss, der nicht nur zusätzliche finanzielle Verluste verursacht, sondern auch nicht der zunehmend geforderten Nachhaltigkeit der Produktion entspricht.

Früherkennung spart Nerven, Aufwand und Energie

Die Vorstellung eines Produktionsstillstands verliert ihren Schrecken, wenn Unregelmässigkeiten oder Störungen im Betrieb von Motoren, Pumpen oder Kompressoren laufend identifiziert werden können. Durch Früherkennung lässt sich auch Energieverschwendung vermeiden, wie sie zum Beispiel durch Reibung oder mangelhafte Übertragung der Antriebsleistung verursacht wird. Verfügt das für die Instandhaltung zuständige Personal über Daten, die auf eine Abweichung von der Norm hinweisen, kann es die entsprechenden Risikofaktoren beim nächsten regulären Wartungstermin gezielt angehen. Dies bringt Zeit- und Kostenvorteile, da jede Kontrolle mit Umtrieben verbunden ist.

Condition Monitoring Turck Banner

Intelligente Verknüpfung von Sensorik mit Datentransfer von Turck und Banner

Das auf Elementen von Turck und Banner basierende Condition-Monitoring-System für Motoren überwacht diese permanent und zuverlässig. Kernkomponente ist ein robuster Sensor für die Erfassung von Vibrationen und Temperatur: zwei wichtige Indikatoren für den aktuellen Zustand eines Antriebs. Der Transfer der Daten ist je nach Kundenwunsch über IO-Link oder Modbus RTU-Schnittstelle möglich. Bei schwierig zugänglichen Bereichen kommt Banner ins Spiel: Das industrielle Funknetzwerksystem des Bachofen-Technologiepartners überträgt die Daten kabellos zur lokalen Steuerung oder weiter in die Cloud. Das breite Sortiment von verschiedenen soliden Halterungen ermöglicht eine einfache und schnelle Montage und Demontage der Sensoren in jeder Anlage. Anwenderfreundlich ist auch das übersichtlich ausgelegte Dashboard für die Kontrolle und Steuerung des Systems.

Monitoring-Know-how von Bachofen inklusive

Je nachdem, wie gravierend die Folgen eines unerwarteten Anlagenstillstandes sind, ist die Investition in das Condition-Monitoring-System bereits mit dem ersten potenziellen Stillstand amortisiert. Grund genug, mit den Bachofen-Experten für das Monitoring von Industrieanlagen Kontakt aufzunehmen und mit ihnen über eine massgeschneiderte Lösung zu diskutieren.