Automated climate monitoring in the warehouse: Condition monitoring with Turck and Banner

When storing sensitive products, continuous temperature and humidity control is essential to prevent product losses. However, doing this manually requires a lot of effort. A complete condition monitoring solution using Turck and Banner components saves both time and money.

Product losses caused by negative climatic influences during storage are diametrically opposed to the principle of sustainability. These days, waste is very much frowned upon. The topic of “food waste”, for example, affects not only consumers, but all parties in the upstream value chain: from mechanical engineers to food processors, logistics companies and distributors. Avoiding rejects is also essential for the chemical industry, the pharmaceutical industry and other industries for cost reasons.

Manual control is fraught with risk

The importance of climatic conditions for maintaining product quality has been clearly demonstrated in the logistics processes for Coronavirus vaccines. The significance of the continuous monitoring and documentation of climate data can therefore hardly be overestimated. However, manual monitoring is very time-consuming and prone to errors. It provides data at significantly greater intervals than automated systems. There is therefore a risk that outliers in the temperature and humidity values will not be detected.

Turck Banner Condition Monitoring im Lager

Condition monitoring as a complete, integrated solution

Fully automated condition monitoring with components from Bachofen technology partners Turck and Banner is an investment that pays off quickly. It prevents climate-related impacts on product quality, offers maximum reliability and reduces the requirement for personnel and resources in the warehouse. As a complete system, the solution integrates a temperature humidity sensor, a wireless data communication device and an edge gateway with data transfer to the cloud. Depending on their security requirements, users have the choice between hosting in the Turck data centre and hosting on their own servers “on premises” with no connection to the Internet.

Commissioning and operation with no programming knowledge

The cloud dashboard gives the user a clear view of the data from every sensor at any time. The data can also be displayed in a number of different forms. No programming knowledge is required for the condition monitoring solution, whether for adjusting the dashboard display, setting email or SMS alerts, or recording long-term trends and reports in CSV files. After all, the Turck motto is “configure, don’t program”.

Successfully programmed with Bachofen

Bachofen specialists are there to provide you with capable advice and technical support. Thanks to the excellent relationship built over years of cooperation with Turck and Banner, they have extensive product and application knowledge.

Do you have any questions?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web
Roland Fuchs
Product manager
+41 44 944 14 35

Discover more products from Turck

Areas of application

  • Food industry

  • Pharmaceuticals industry

  • Chemical industry

  • Logistics

Sustainably safe

Automatisierte Klimaüberwachung im Lager: Condition Monitoring mit Turck und Banner

Die konstante Kontrolle von Temperatur und Feuchtigkeit bei der Lagerung von entsprechend sensiblen Produkten ist unabdingbar, um Produktverluste zu vermeiden. Manuell verursacht sie jedoch viel Aufwand. Eine Condition-Monitoring-Komplettlösung mit Komponenten von Turck und Banner spart Zeit und Geld.

Produktverluste wie sie durch negative klimatische Einflüsse bei der Lagerung verursacht werden können, stehen dem Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit diametral entgegen. Verschwendung ist heute erst recht verpönt. Das Thema «Foodwaste» zum Beispiel betrifft nicht nur die Konsumenten, sondern alle Akteure der vorgelagerten Wertschöpfungskette: vom Maschinenbau über die Lebensmittelverarbeiter und Logistiker bis hin zu den Distributoren. Das Vermeiden von Ausschuss ist auch für die Chemische Industrie, die Pharmabranche und andere Industriezweige schon aus Kostengründen zwingende Notwendigkeit.

Manuelle Kontrolle risikobehaftet

Wie wichtig die klimatischen Bedingungen für den Erhalt der Produktqualität sind, hat sich in aller Deutlichkeit bei den Logistikprozessen der Corona-Impfstoffe gezeigt. Die Bedeutung einer stetigen Überwachung und Dokumentation der Klimadaten kann also kaum überschätzt werden. Allerdings ist die manuelle Kontrolle sehr aufwändig und erst noch fehleranfällig. Sie liefert Daten in deutlich grösseren Intervallen als automatisierte Systeme. Dadurch besteht die Gefahr, dass Ausreisser bei den Temperatur- und Feuchtigkeitswerten nicht erfasst werden.

Fokusthema 23 condition monitoring lager content

Condition Monitoring als integrierte Gesamtlösung

Voll automatisiertes Condition-Monitoring mit Komponenten der Bachofen-Technologiepartner Turck und Banner ist eine Investition, die sich schnell bezahlt macht. Sie verhindert klimabedingte Schädigungen der Produktqualität, bietet maximale Sicherheit und verringert Einsatz von Personal und Ressourcen im Lager. Als Gesamtsystem integriert die Lösung einen Temperatur-Feuchtesensor, ein Wireless-Datenkommunikationsgerät und ein Edge-Gateway mit Datenübertragung bis in die Cloud. Je nach Ausprägung der Sicherheitsbedürfnisse haben Anwender die Wahl zwischen Hosting im Turck Datenzentrum oder Hosting auf eigenen Servern «on premises» ohne Anbindung ans Internet.

Inbetriebnahme und Bedienung ohne Programmierkenntnisse

Über das Cloud Dashboard hat der Anwender jederzeit die Übersicht über die Daten aller Sensoren, wobei sich die Daten in verschiedenen Formen darstellen lassen. Ganz nach dem Turck-Motto «konfigurieren statt programmieren» erfordert die Condition-Monitoring-Lösung keine Programmierkenntnisse: weder für die Anpassung der Darstellung auf dem Dashboard noch für das Setzen von Alarmmeldungen per E-Mail oder SMS oder die Aufzeichnung von Langzeittrends oder Reports als CSV-Dateien.

Mit Bachofen erfolgreicher Einsatz programmiert

Dafür sorgen die kompetente Beratung und technische Unterstützung der Bachofen-Spezialisten. Diese verfügen dank dem exzellenten Klima in der jahrelangen Zusammenarbeit mit Turck und Banner über umfassendes Produkt- und Applikations-Know-how.

Haben Sie Fragen?

Fuchs Roland 3474 web